Look Mom, No Training Wheels

I honestly didn’t think that it would happen this summer.  I thought, well, maybe by the end of the summer or fall.  But that just goes to show you that kids work on their own time line and sometimes it is just up to them to decide when they are ready.

I will say that we did grease the skids.  Our oldest out grew his 12″ bike complete with training wheels last spring.  We didn’t rush out to buy him a new bike.  Later that year, my husband came home with a 20″ bike he scored from a co-worker and we figured he would just graduate into that one.  A 20″ bike however is a lot of bike for a little guy and there is no fitting for training wheels; talk about sink or swim.

I gave a shout out to some girl friends of older boys are managed to score a 16″.  I had been meaning to transfer the training wheels but somehow the wrench never walked itself upstairs from the basement into the garage.  Fast forward a week and a friend of mine is visiting with two GIRLS the same ages as our boys.  “I can ride a bike without training wheels,” my son tells the girl.  I elbow my friend and whisper, “this is news to me!”  We watched him walk his bike to the end of the driveway.  He got on and pedaled like crazy back towards us.  I couldn’t believe it but he made it back without falling.  Bravado is a powerful motivator.

Today, all he wanted to do was ride his bike up and down the driveway.  He is thrilled and I am psyched.  I can’t believe I got off the hook so easily.  No skinned knees, no tears just mucho macho.  I am looking forward to lots of bike rides in the warm spring and summer days to come.

Ride on!

