Beautiful Butterfly

I had the privilege of spending all of last weekend with a dear friend of mine. The weekend was centered around a mini-reunion of good friends from college. There were thirteen of us along with thirteen energetic mini-versions of ourselves. It was a magical evening spent among amazing friends, our children and delicious food. We pushed the hours of that evening to their elastic boundaries not one of us wanting to be the first to depart.

While the rest of our crew went back to their corners of the world, I stayed with my friend to really savor the weekend. She and I met back in college and our paths crossed with mutual friends and common interests, but it was after graduation that our friendship grew, bolstered by similar life experiences; marriage, house, kids, dogs. This common ground lent itself to easy conversation, plenty of laughs and a few good cries. I have always said that my closest friends sneak up on me. Somewhere along life’s road, she went from friend to life friend. This remarkable woman’s place is among those whom I count on one hand.

She has been dealt one of life’s more difficult hands this past year and has been generous to open up and let me walk along with her. As her friend, my heart aches and my eyes brim as she shares with me. I listen. She is brave. She is centered.  She is human. That same weekend as we were sharing time, she was sharing her porch with five tiny creatures shrouded in their mysterious chrysalis. The children checked on them diligently throughout the weekend but these silent creatures did not stir. On the morning we were packing to leave we noticed that one chrysalis had turned dark. Within moments we witnessed a butterfly unfurl its wrinkled wings and emerge. A gorgeous butterfly now graced our presence leaving behind only a shell of its former stage of life. So symbolic it was to watch this metamorphosis unfold before our eyes. We were reminded that our lives too can morph into shells of their former selves and come out beautifully in the end.

Beautiful Butterfly

