A Day on the Slopes

This year the boys and I are spending Christmas vacation with Nahnie and Grampa.  They live in the White Mountains just a few miles down the road from Loon Mountain Ski Resort.  We always love spending time with them but it has a special draw for me (as a girl who loves to ski) during the winter months.

I was not always a skier.  They moved to the White Mountains when I was in college and up until that point my only exposure to skiing was a lesson at Nashoba Valley.  I was twelve, the oldest and by far tallest, in my lesson.  I remember being awkward and cold.  The whole experience was so awful it’s a miracle I tried it again.

Fast forward a few years, my parents move to a ski town and I’m in college looking for a job during winter break.  The resort is always looking for winter help and they hired me to work in food and beverage at a lodge halfway down the mountain.  I had to ski to get to work!

Loon Mountain is a special place to me for so many reasons.  My time there is filled with fun memories but most importantly, it happens to be the place where I met my husband, where he proposed to me and where we got married; all stories for another time.

This week, the kids spent two days in ski school.  They did not go willingly but they went bravely.  The youngest one was so exhausted at pick up time that he fell asleep as soon as we buckled him in.

Tuckered out from a day on the slopes

The older one spent the car ride home telling us about going up the “big hill”.  Grampa and I were grinning from ear to ear listening to his stories of bravado and looking forward to the time when he can ski the “big mountain” with us and start building his own Loon memories.

Dad and I at the top of North Peak

