A Trip to the Dentist

It’s already been six months and we find ourselves back at the dentist office.  Son #1 has a fear of the dentist that rivals someone who has had a few root canals.  What could he possibly be afraid of when his trips usually feature sitting in a comfy chair and a trip to the toy closet.  I’m the one who should be afraid with my receding gums and multiple fillings just waiting to pop out.

But today’s trip went very well.  Son #2 was first and handled it like a pro letting them polish away while he sat back.  His choice of polishing paste: chocolate.  Son #1 went next while I was in the other room getting my own teeth cleaned.  He went willingly not to be outpaced by his younger brother.  I could hear him chatting it up with the hygienist and asking adorable questions like “How do you know which one shoots out the water and which one shoots out the air?”  I was enjoying listening from afar and just like every hardworking mom could have easily fallen asleep while having my teeth cleaned.

 

Younger brother as the assistant

Younger brother as the assistant

The toy closet

The toy closet

 

 

 

