Eeny Meeny Miny Mo

Eeny Meeny Miny Mo.

Catch a tiger by the toe.

If he hollers, let him go.

Out goes Y – O- U.

How else would you make a decision!  At around five years of age, both boys picked this up.  I never taught it to them but almost over night it became their response of choice.  “Do you want Cheerios or Rice Krispies?” – Eeny meeny miny mo.  “Do you want to play Candyland or Chutes and Ladders?” – Eeny Meeny Miny Mo.  They even used it when it made no sense.  “Do you like pizza?” – Eeny, meeny, miny mo.  I remember reciting this little ditty when I was a kid.  Don’t all kids say this at some point?  I’m surprised it hasn’t been added to the doctor’s checklist: Height – check, weight – check, stand on one leg – check, jump up and down – check, Eeny Meeny Miny Mo – check.  Okay mom, your child looks like a healthy, normally developing five year old.

I did a quick Google search, to see if I was spelling it right, and it turns out that it is virtually universal.  There are different versions of it in different languages and our Eeny, Meeny dates back to 1820 or so.  I can just picture kids from all generations making crucial choices using this highly sophisticated tool. There’s a reason it has such staying power and universal appeal.  Should I use a decision tree or pro/con list to decide my next blog post? Hmmm.. Eeny, meeny, miny Mo.

