Ireland – Dingle Peninsula

Our first excursion in Ireland was to the Dingle Peninsula. It was a special excursion because some of my husband’s relatives were from Dingle. It was a two hour drive there with beautiful views of the country side. As you can imagine, everything is so green! We took a quick stop to get a photo of this incredible thatched roof. It is really quite amazing to learn that these thatched roofs work as well and last as long as conventional asphalt roofs.

I love this photo of my son using his camera.

 

We stopped in Dingle town for a quick bite to eat and my first Guiness of the trip at Murphy’s Bar. The town was quiet because it is the off season. It reminded me a little of Rockport, Massachusetts being right on the water and full of quaint stores.

Dingle Town

Here are a few other photos from that day…..

How do you like this roof!

