You’re Stuck with It

“Hey Mommy?” my youngest son asks me.

“What?” I reply.

“You’re stuck with it.  HA HA HA!!!” he laughs.

Oh yeah, I remember playing this exact same game. The only problem is that I can’t remember how long this phase lasts. That information would be really helpful right about now because frankly, it’s getting old. My husband and I spent the first week skillfully responding to his questions with “Ye-essss.” That foiled him for a bit but he has gotten crafty. Last week I decided that I was done playing the “what game” so I answered with “What, what, what!!” And by the way, what exactly am I stuck with? Saying “you’re stuck with it” is such a part of his vernacular that he will first point out that “I’m stuck with it” and then proceed to ask me his real question like “what’s for dinner?”. Now he’s stuck with it.

Annoying as they may be, these games pop up and make me smile by transferring me back to my childhood. What goes around comes back around but with a little luck on our side hopefully we won’t be “stuck with it” for too much longer.

