Honey Nut Cheerios

It’s the start of a new day and I hear the familiar “thud” of feet jumping off the bunkbed ladder. Son #1 is awake. Good, because it breaks my heart to wake him up to get ready for school. Wait a minute, this is bad news, he is an hour ahead of schedule. I don’t move. Maybe he will go to the bathroom and then crawl back into bed. No such luck. I hear him go to the bathroom, get dressed and then head downstairs. I am still in bed.

Two minutes later he is standing next to me holding an unopened box of “Honey Nut Cheerios”. “Mom, can I open these? I’ll pour them all by myself. Please!”

I bought these on a whim thinking it would be a fun change from the ever constant, endless supply of “Cheerios”. I was hoping to surprise them but they somehow just knew. It was as if they could sense the presence of extra sugar since I had bought and unloaded the groceries while they were at school. Nothing of this magnitude gets by unnoticed. Imagine if I had bought donuts!

I love this age. He got up an hour early for a bowl of “Honey Nut Cheerios”. What would get me out of bed an hour earlier than usual? I honestly don’t know. Even though I wasn’t ready to start my morning quite that early it ended up being a treat to have breakfast together, just the two of us. I treasure those simple moments that make up life. I’d do it again tomorrow and it’s a good thing because it’s a large box!

