The End of an Era

I have just a few minutes before I pick up my youngest son at preschool. Today is his last day of school and my last day of preschool pick-up! He’ll be celebrating the beginning of summer vacation and I will be celebrating the end of preschool drop-off and pick-up. While there was a smidge of car pooling here and there it has been five solid years of drop-off and pick-up. The trek back and forth was pretty mundane and certainly time consuming (15 minutes each way – an hour every day) but I’m not complaining. I know it’s part of my job as a stay at home mom and there are lots of us doing the same thing. I’ve met wonderful people while standing around waiting for our pint-sized students to be dismissed. Many of these women I consider close friends and I will miss seeing them every day. We’ve gotten to know each other so well by sharing little snippets of our daily lives. It is so easy to relate to other moms with children the same age and there is plenty to talk about.

I won’t miss the scheduled back and forth of the pick-up and drop-off but I will miss the casual camaraderie that came with it.

