My Six Year Old Teenager

My youngest son is a six year old teenager. I know this because it is impossible to wake him up for school and he spent two hours on the phone today. All of you out there with teenagers are rolling your eyes at me saying ‘just you wait honey, you ain’t seen nothin’ yet!‘. I’ll grant you that especially since he still calls me “Mommy” and I get random hugs – frequently. So you are right, I haven’t a clue about what it’s like to have a teenager.

Struggling to get him out of bed is nothing new. He is a snuggly kid and to see him all cozied I can’t blame him for not jumping right out. This is going to be a long road of hurried mornings.

The phone talking is new. It started this week when older brother was talking to my Mom and neglected to pass the phone over to his younger brother. Younger brother was upset and asked me to redial. Nahnie was happy to chat and chat they did for thirty minutes! I have little knowledge of their conversation because once they were connected he walked off to the other room for a little privacy. Remember when our privacy was limited to the length of the phone cord and even then there was no guarantee. I was always convinced my younger brother was spying on me or listening with another handset on mute.   flatter myself because in retrospect I’m sure he didn’t care. (did you?)

This afternoon he called Nanhie again but she didn’t answer. “Mommy, who else can I call?” he asks.  “Well, you can call Gramma, Uncle Brent, Aunt Janice, Aunt Shirley, Aunt Gwen….” I replied. And that’s exactly what he did. He had lengthy conversations with those who answered and got call backs from those who didn’t. We’d dial together (good for number identification) and then he’d wonder off to the living room. I’m told that he chatted about his friends, his recent love for the trumpet, and his skills at the wii (a Christmas gift).

I’d been thinking about canceling our landline service but seeing my chatty “teenager” in action today I’m glad I still have it. Not only is this kid not restricted by a cord, he’s not restricted by a time limit either since I have my own phone and we have v-mail. So with all this technology be sure to check your caller ID because if you don’t you may be hearing about a trumpet and the wii for a half an hour.

