Big Ben

My parents have this alarm clock at their camp in Vermont – Big Ben. It’s been around my whole life. It’s one of those classic bedside alarm clocks from the sixties with a solid base and a big round face in avocado green naturally and it’s incredibly loud. It’s hard to describe but it is hilarious every time the alarm goes off and catches someone off guard. I can remember my brother being obsessed with Big Ben for a period of time. He would set it and hide it around the house and it would go off at random times and always surprise us. Predictably we’d jump and then laugh. It was a total riot. It got even funnier when he learned to tell time and could use it to maximum effect, like during dinner. There was always someone extra at our dinner table; friends of ours, friends of our parents, exchange students, extra family members. The perfect opportunity for a boy and his alarm clock.

This summer our younger son discovered Big Ben. I felt like I had been transported back in time. I was seeing my brother all over again in the form of my son. It helps that they are both blonde and super cute! It didn’t take long for him to figure out how to set the alarm. Turns out it is still funny. Although not quite as funny when it went off at 7:30 this morning waking up the household. It’s funnier at dinnertime.

20130714-132719.jpg

