The Vermont Tooth Fairy

Our eight-year-old son lost his first tooth a couple of weeks ago quickly followed by a second tooth. Having found out from his brother that the tooth fairy gives one dollar per tooth, he decided to keep his teeth. Apparently for that amount the tooth fairy wasn’t worth believing in.

School ended and the kids were excited for summer vacation. We were headed north to visit my parents and amidst the last minute errands and packing both kids managed to loosen a few more teeth. While the boys were rocking their teeth back and forth comparing progress, my husband casually mentioned that maybe the tooth fairy in Vermont leaves fishing lures for teeth instead of dollars. That caught their attention.

During the drive north I overheard my older son tell his brother that he brought his two baby teeth with him planning to test the Vermont tooth fairy. I realized I was trapped. I hadn’t packed any lures and had no way to pick some up because the boys were with me. It would be too late when I arrived at my parent’s house to run back out. I quickly called my Dad while the boys were in the bathroom at McDonalds.

“Hi Dad. Can you do me a favor? Can you pick up two fishing lures? I need them for tonight. Can’t talk now. I’ll explain it all later.”. I hung up with Dad and laughed at the craziness. Dad has no idea why I needed fishing lures and I couldn’t explain anything because my boys had exited the restroom and were begging for French fries – pretty please!

I spotted my Dad’s truck at Hastings General Store as we rolled into town. He was there dutifully buying fishing lures. The tooth fairy was ready except, after all that rigamarole, there were no teeth to be found under the pillow that night or the next night. The tooth fairy transaction didn’t happen until the third night. Tooth fairies are hard to believe in when you’re nearly nine and our skeptical son was testing the magic.

The next morning he came to the breakfast table with a toothless grin and two lures in hand. “Hey, where did you get those?” we ask. “The tooth fairy,” he says. He was so happy and so was I, watching him believe in the magic for that moment. He may not believe in the tooth fairy back home but apparently the one in Vermont is worth believing in.

