Kid’s Cancer Buzz Off

Last year my husband shaved his head in the “Kids Cancer Buzz-Off”. It’s a worthy cause and a selfless type of fundraising. It’s wonderful to raise money for causes with fun runs and walks but shaving your head for others takes it to another level.

It’s quite possible that if you’re a woman and you voluntarily shave your locks that there might be a special place for you in heaven.

My husband’s friend (possessor of Cindy Crawford-like hair) did exactly that last year. Thirty years of gorgeous hair on the floor in thirty seconds leaving her exposed, vulnerable and able to relate just a little more to those battling cancer. She’ll be reminded in every reflection of the most vulnerable of all: children with cancer.

This year our youngest son wanted to participate; the boy who hates getting his hair cut. I knew my husband would do it but I wasn’t so sure our son would. Things are easier said then done. It was a cute gesture nonetheless. But as the fundraising continued and the days got closer, the more excited he got. He was telling anyone who would listen that he and his Daddy were shaving their heads for kids with cancer and might even get to meet Rob Gronkowski. I had to admit it looked promising.

He complains the whole time he gets his hair cut: it hurts, it’s itchy, it’s too short!!  It’s not a pleasant experience for anyone involved.

Our Buzz-Off event started the evening before on the back patio with my husband shaving our son’s head. Would he do it or would he have to tell everyone that he changed his mind? I got the camera ready while my husband oiled the clippers. I was looking for signs of remorse, but he never lost his resolve. I watched as Kevin plowed paths through his strawberry-blond hair while our boy stood there unfazed. When his head was completely shaven, I was certain there would be regret and tears but he was positively beaming. My heart lurched when I saw him for the first time. It was as if I had caught of glimpse of a different life; a life where our child was very sick. My heart broke at the thought of that path and then felt crushed thinking of all those who are on that journey. I cried as I looked at his smiling face and admired his bravery. He carried through with his promise. “I’m so proud of you!” I told him. “You should be really happy about what you’ve just done for others.”

Shaved and Unfazed by his baldness

Shaved and Unfazed by his baldness

They raised north of $5,000 (thank you!!) and were invited, with the other top fundraisers, to have breakfast with Rob Gronkowski. Their fundraising is a small step towards a cure, but their selflessness to shave their heads is a huge gift to me as a daily reminder of our blessings and our vulnerability.

Father and Son before the big Buzz Off event

Father and Son before the big Buzz Off event.

Bald and Beautiful

Bald and Beautiful

Breakfast with Rob Gronkowski

Breakfast with Rob Gronkowski

Notice the girl with the star earrings holding pony tails of her hair. She was fighting the tears and being so brave.

Notice the girl with the star earrings holding pony tails of her hair. She was fighting the tears and being so brave.  Special place in heaven for that type of selflessness.

