R is Revolution

R is for Revolution as in New Year’s Revolutions. No, that’s not a typo. That’s what son #2 asked me this year when we turned the calendar into 2015. “Mom, what’s your New Year’s Revolution?” How cute is that? I love it when they get it just slightly wrong. It’s so endearing and a perk of being a mom – like the time I had “menomia” instead of pneumonia.

He mixed up resolution and revolution so I asked myself, did he really get it wrong? Maybe revolution is more appropriate. A revolution can mean one complete rotation around an axis. That is in a sense what our new year is; one complete orbit around the sun. Revolution also means to overthrow a political system, often violently. Sometimes our own systems need a violent overthrow. Squeaky wheel habits are easy to ignore until they fall off the axel and need repair.

My son was still awaiting an answer to his question. “I don’t know what my New Year’s Revolution is,” I told him after seriously pondering his question. Sure I have plenty of squeaky wheels but none, to my knowledge, are going to fall off their axels this year. I guess that means I am stuck making a New Year’s Resolution instead. Not quite as dramatic but important anyway. “I guess I resolve to write more and read more. I want to keep better track of our finances. Go on a few more dates with Daddy.”  I was boring him. “Sorry honey, those are just resolutions. I’ll let you know if I come up with any revolutions.”

 

 

