Little Creature Comforts

My kids have outgrown the Fisher Price and Little Tikes stage and those chunky toys have been passed along to friends. They were lots of fun when the kids used them but consumed an enormous amount of real estate. The moment I thought they were finished with this stage, I got rid of them making our home look a little more grownup and a lot less daycare decor. Those brightly colored toys are hard to hide.

What interests the kids now takes up less space. They love anything sports related which means most of it is kept in the garage and shed. They also love Legos and tiny collectable figurines. My younger son has oodles of “Trashies” and my older son is collecting “Teeny Mates” and “Pod Racers”. These are all tiny, grape sized, plastic figures that they can collect and trade.

ecdf_star_wars_fighter_pods_pieces

Pod Racers

TeenyMates

TeenyMates

 

Trashies

Trashies

 

 

Trashies on the ottoman

Trashies on the ottoman

 

 

The boys will lose interest in them for months and then they’ll resurface en masse. Here’s how I found the ottoman yesterday morning. He came home to find it just as he had left it. I don’t mind these little creatures. They don’t take up much space and it’s entertaining to see where they’ll appear next.

 

 

 

 

Pod Racers playing checkers

Pod Racers playing checkers

 

 

The next day some “Pod Racers” arrived for a game of checkers. Unfortunately my standard wooden pieces where no match for these protectors of the galaxy and they beat me soundly with fast moves and triple jumps.

 

Watching the kids play with them reminds me of how they used to play with their Match Box Cars. They’d pick some out, line them up, push them around and sort them by color. I’d find them in different corners of the house as a little memento of past play.

It also reminds me that my boys are still kids. They may be getting bigger, more independent and more physical but at eight and ten they are still young. These little creatures bring them the comfort of quiet, imaginative playtime, while I take comfort that my boys haven’t grown up quite as much as I thought.

 

 

