Rest in Pieces

IMG_4927The Oriental Trading catalog arrived in our mailbox a month ago with its Halloween trinkets for sale. Our oldest son spent an hour carefully studying each page before declaring that our house was not scary enough. “Mom, your decorations are too babyish,” he said. “You have ghosts that smile. We need to make our house more like a haunted house.” “You’re right,” I agreed. “We have outgrown our decorations.”IMG_4934

Over the next few days he showed me different decorations and dreamed of building a haunted house that people could walk through, complete with moving body parts and fog machines. I didn’t participate too heavily. Halloween was still a month away.IMG_4928

Then October rolled in and I was forced to pay attention. The decoration options were endless and expensive. “Wouldn’t you rather spend the money on Christmas lights?” I suggested, raining all over his enthusiasm. He considered it briefly and then tossed it away, chasing the present over the future.

Meanwhile I examined our Halloween decorations. He was right, they were pretty weak and definitely not scary. So while I was in Target I picked up a Halloween kit complete with a skull, hands, tombstones, fencing and a spiderweb; a Halloween slam dunk. I couldn’t wait to give it to him especially since he’s already given up on me. He gave me a smile as if to say, not bad, and set to work. It looked cool but was lost in our big yard. We needed more. Now that I has some skin in the game we went back to Target and purchased a light-up skull. Then the old me resurfaced. I closed my wallet and told him to get creative.

IMG_4932IMG_4933

He found some hefty cardboard in the attic and drew a tombstone inscribed with “Rest in Pieces”. I gently explained that it’s supposed to be “Rest in Peace”. “I know Mom, but I like “Rest in Pieces” better. It makes more sense that way.” It does make more sense. It’s also how we buy our decorations: a few pieces at a time. He was making his point. Guess I’ll have to make peace with that.

IMG_4936

