What’s on your tree?

Our first Christmas tree as a married couple was over eight feet tall. We lived in an old Victorian with high ceilings and were so excited about getting a huge tree that we forgot we had only one ornament and no lights. We hung the ornament and then rushed to Kmart for the starter box of shiny red bulbs and one string of white lights. We thought it looked so classy.

WonderfulLife

Our first ornament.

Fast forward sixteen years and we have a crate of ornaments. Our moms enthusiastically cleaned through their collection, eager to finally unload our childhood ornaments and over the years we’ve been given some and have bought a few ourselves. Having children helped boost the collection with Baby’s First Christmas ornaments and crafty preschool keepsakes.

I love decorating the Christmas tree. It’s a pictorial family history; each ornament contributing to the story of our lives. These four ornaments are from my childhood and are my most sentimental.

The little girl with the goose was a gift from my Dad’s secretary, Betty Eagan. She gave my brother and me an ornament each Christmas but this is the only one I have. The tiny little angel with the green pipe cleaner halo I made as a Brownie. The strange little man with the top hat was made for me by my Great Grandmother, Grammie Morse. He hangs on every year next to the star to protect him from little fingers and dog tails. And lastly the china doll was a gift from my Grandparents from their trip to China. My Mother has a similar ornament and I love thinking of hers while I hang mine.

I have two remembrance ornaments that I think of as hidden angels on our tree. The pearl on the oyster shell is for May Gunther who was my husband’s babysitter growing up. The heart was a gift from Pam Mikulis a friend of my Mother-in-law’s. She died young from health complications but throughout her suffering she was always elegant, lovely and kind. Her ornament is inspirational for me.

I could detail a hundred more but these six are my most significant. I love seeing them on my tree each year as a beautiful reminder of Christmas sentimentality and tradition.

