My Father Daughter Dance

I left my family behind for a long weekend in Kansas to join my extended family. My cousin was getting married. I was honored and excited to be there to support her, but I was sad to be apart from my own family especially since my husband had been gone the previous week at a sales meeting. He crawled into bed late Thursday night and I headed out the following morning to catch my flight. “Here’s the baton. The instructions are inside. Good luck!”, I kissed him goodbye and was on my way.

The weekend was jam-packed with activities from the moment I stepped off the plane. Friday was the rehearsal dinner BBQ party at the home of the groom. It was a casual and fun way to meet “the other side” before the big day. The wedding day included breakfast at my other cousin’s beautiful abode followed by lunch with a summertime friend who had recently moved to the area. She kidnapped me away from wedding headquarters and we enjoyed catching up over burgers and milkshakes.

IMG_6017

The wedding ceremony was a lovely and intimate affair for family only performed by my Dad. The tears trickled down my cheeks before the procession even started as waves of wedding sentiment rolled over me. Weddings have that effect on me as I reflect on the gift of my own marriage and wish for lifetime of happiness for the new couple. I’m beyond thrilled for Margot and Graham. You can truly feel their love for each other and deep understanding of commitment interwoven with fun and humor.

IMG_6022

The reception was open to a much larger guest list. It was at one of the most beautiful settings imaginable. The bride and groom honored my parents by acknowledging their 45th wedding anniversary, where they shared the cake cutting ceremony. The toasts were heartfelt and dinner was delicious. But I felt the need to excuse myself as dinner finished up to call home and check in on my family. Suddenly I could barely hold myself together. I was sobbing. It’s no fun to come to a wedding stag, especially on the heels of not having seen my husband for a week. He talked me through his day, making me laugh like he always does; deep love and humor is a recipe for a great marriage. After we hung up I sat quietly and listened to the band playing in the reception hall regaining my footing. It was time to celebrate the marriage of this beautiful new couple.

IMG_6040

My parents spotted me immediately as I walked back into the hall. They knew I was struggling. Dad asked me to dance. I was embarrassed by my tear stained face, but I was taught to always say yes when asked to dance. I said yes. Dancing in the arms of my Dad was exactly the comfort I needed. I felt loved and supported, protected and appreciated. I could be Daddy’s little girl for this song and it was okay. That moment gave me the time to dig deep and emerge as the cheery guest I wanted to be for the new couple.

Growing up I never went to a Father Daughter Dance, but I have danced a lot with my Dad over the years. From parties to weddings to my own wedding. Dancing with my Dad is always fun. It’s the most comfortable space on the dance floor. Even at the age of 40 I’m still Daddy’s little girl. Thank you Dad for asking me to dance with you. I’ll always say yes.

20160430_205307

 

