Island Time South of the Arctic Circle

It’s a hot day on the pond, a rarity in this location just eleven degrees south of the arctic circle. The air is heavy and still and the momentum has slowed from New England pace to island time. The kids move around like slugs, draping themselves over anything and anyone nearby. The water beckons them to swim, but that’s too much work. Instead, they pour themselves into kayaks tandem style with one kid in the well and another saddled on the stern.

kayak cruises

As they float, they discuss their big plans for the day. Will they swim here or at the neighbors? Which activity should they do next? Will they continue with their olympic games from yesterday? Games inspired by Rio and a tradition of our summers since the London Olympics. But like any pre-teenage kids, hunger pangs strike and interrupt their musings.

I am watching them from next door as I clean in preparation for next week’s renters. I’m thrilled they are busy and happy, leaving me to my work. I bury my head in the shower and scrub the tiles. Suddenly it’s quiet. The kayaks are beached and there are no kids to be found. I scrub some more. Another glance shows their flotilla once again asea but with a lot more chatter and activity.

My son calls out, “Who wants a kayak cruise? I’ve got snacks. I’ve got drinks. Who’s next?” It’s no surprise that this industrious kid has organized a jaunt around the raft for his friends. The surprise is that he isn’t charging them. They sign up eagerly and his new endeavor doesn’t disappoint. His customers are served fruit snacks and pretzels, lemonade or water as he paddles them around. The cruise is a success and he doubles his capacity by loading one kid on the bow and another astern.

It’s the kid version of a pontoon boat cruise. We are all satisfied customers when we are floating, eating and drinking. It’s island time here just south of the arctic circle.

